Never Let Them See You Sweat!

So, here’s your Single Mom’s Lean In! Tip of the Day!

Don’t let on when things are really starting to stress you out!

This goes for home and work. So, last night, we were still struggling with the no air thing! On top of that, there were some very strange half power issues going on and certain lights kept tripping the system. It wasn’t good. Sydney, my 8-year old, was starting to get really worried and concerned and frankly so was I! I made an executive decision to shut down all the power to the house and reset the whole fuse box.

Now, I understand how to reset a tripped fuse. I can even do it in the dark, just by sliding my finger down all of the fuses and feeling the one that’s just slightly out of whack. Then push over to one side and push hard all the way back over. So, why would this be any different for the main power??

I don’t know, but it was. I tried and tried and couldn’t get the power to switch back over. Sydney is now holding my phone with flashlight app glowing as I struggle with the switch. She starts to panic. “It’s going to be just fine. Don’t worry. I know what I’m doing.” I lied. I was totally freaking out inside. But there was no way I was going to let her know that. Why?

1. Freaking out when you are the one in charge, could cause a complete meltdown for those that depend on you.

2. It shows you have the ability to be weak. Although it is okay to feel it, showing it can impact future situations when you need to convince others you can handle anything.

3. You cannot think straight when you are having a meltdown. No matter what is going on, you’ve proven that you are the one that has the brain power to get through things. Those around you are depending on you.

So I kept working that main power switch and with our anxiety held somewhat at bay, it finally kicked over! “You did it!” Sydney was overjoyed and relieved, as was I.

So here’s a bonus tip – be perseverant. We had to have power. I wasn’t giving up. I kept trying and trying and trying and eventually – I was able to say, “See. I told you we’d be ok.”

Leave a Reply

